Two Faced Adulthood

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single person in possession of a college degree is in want of a job.

But the job we eventually find is rarely the job we want. We begin our “real world” indoctrination at a sub-par job and, as a consequence, learn workforce etiquette in less than ideal conditions.

We learn that we are wage slaves, that the boss owns our time. Time cards are our shackles and cubicles are our prisons.

We learn that it doesn’t matter that our family members died, our pets are missing, our cars are out of gas, or that our best friend has cancer. As soon as we clock in, we cease being a whole person.

One we walk in the door, we are split. We put on a mask. We are forced to pretend that we are just absolutely spiffed to be there, lest we get fired and the money we depend on dry up.

In school, your friends and (sometimes) teachers will sympathize with your situations. Your boss, however, could not care less. You are bought–you are a product, a pawn, and if you do not perform well, you will be punished.

People in the workforce are used to this atmosphere. But school kids are not. They must painfully transition from a world in which they are encouraged to succeed into a world in which they are expected to perform like a trained monkey.

The degree of respect for their talents and smarts is gone. They are left floundering, uncertain of how to behave, of how to split their very soul into two parts: the person they are and the painted porcelain of a flawless employee.

3 responses to “Two Faced Adulthood

  1. I came upon your blogspot while looking up some Relient K lyrics (‘90210 without the Beverly Hills’, go figure) and ended up here. Normally I would just kinda sink back into the shadows of internet anonymity, but lately I’ve been trying to be more expressive and less silent-stalker-ish. So. On your (probably by now very old) blogspot, your profile seems to say that you want to be an editor and maybe a writer too. If that’s still true (I realise it very well might not be), why editor first and writer maybe? I would think that writer would be the ultimate and editor maybe the bill-paying thing, but I don’t know much about being an editor.

    • Thanks for stopping by! That’s a good question, one I’ve been thinking about for several years now. The reason I put editor first is because I have very little confidence in my writing abilities. Being an editor seemed doable, whereas being a writer did not.

      I’ve never been trained as a writer. I have been trained to read critically, make connections with ideas, and look for spelling and grammatical errors in works of literature. No matter how good I am at reading, I just don’t think I have the skills necessary to create a compelling work of fiction.

      Until I can get over being afraid of my own failure, I’ll be trying to follow the editor route.

    • Also, an editor is someone who proofreads an authors manuscript. They check for errors and can also help out with wording and story flow, depending on the author they’re working with. They’re responsible for polishing the book.

Leave a Reply

