Personal Prisons

What’s separating you from being you?

My answer is “me.”

My fears, my insecurities, an overwhelming sense of inadequacy–these are the walls of my prison.

I miss out on so much of life.  And that only makes it worse, because then I beat myself up because I’m missing out on life.

I fight my fear, when I can.  And that’s what counts.

So if you’re fighting something in your life, don’t give up.

So many people have overcome so much more than I have.  People like Jenny, who have overcome crippling social anxiety to become one of the coolest people ever.  She’s awesome.

My story isn’t half as inspiring as hers.  I’m not….

Oh, hell.  I’m doing it again.

Listen, just because your story doesn’t seem as good as somebody else’s doesn’t mean that you’re not dealing with something big.  Everybody has problems, and those problems are absolutely important to that person.

And sometimes, if that person doesn’t want to be a burden then they’ll convince themselves that their issues should be hidden because they don’t have it as bad as so-and-so.

Today is the day that we all write “LOVE” on our arms in support of those who are so trapped in their prisons that they can’t fight anymore.

You’re not alone.  Not in this.  There is help.

For those of you who have struggled, are struggling, or know someone who struggles–spread some awareness today.

Check out these people, they’re awesome: To Write Love on Her Arms

One response to “Personal Prisons

  1. I’m glad I read this. Sometimes I get self-righteously judgmental about the trivial plights of others. “Hah, you’re stressing about a midterm? How meaningless.” “Oh, this small ailment is causing you pain? Weak.”

    Then I need to remind myself that it’s not about the thing, it’s about the person, and if their troubled by it, it’s troublesome regardless of if I would be. Misery is in the eye of the beholder. There is no objective standard of suffering. Compassion and empathy the only things that truly matter.

Leave a Reply

