Let’s talk about Music

My sister just got a new trumpet, so I figured I should talk about music today.   So, today (in which I am in Washington, D.C.), here are some random thoughts about music, bands, and genres from me.

Kill Switch. Wouldn’t that be a great name for a band?

I thought so.  And it turns out, I’m right.  The internet knows of two such bands: Killswitch Engage is an American metalcore band (no surprises there).  The second one is Kill Switch…Klick, which was an American industrial rock band back in the early nineties.

Apparently other countries have less violent switches.

I also find it really interesting that both bands produce rather abrasive forms of music.

It’s unfortunate that I don’t like any of their music.

I’m in danger of being flooded in chiptune music.  Which is probably going to make some people cringe, since chiptune isn’t refined like classical.

Sometimes instruments aren’t even involved.

What is involved is lots and lots of retro video game sounds.  Which is actually not exactly uncommon.

There’s a push for electronic music lately.  It’s more than a trend, it’s becoming the standard.  I’m really excited for it, but I’m willing to bet that not everyone is. There’s a rise of one-person bands (Avicii, Skrillex, Owl City, etc.) that don’t need anything other than a computer and a keyboard synthesizer to make awesome music.  That’s cool, but what about bass guitarists?  Violinists? Are they out of a job?

Short answer: No.  But they may have to work harder and try things outside of their comfort zones.

Case and point:

I love creative people.  They’re awesome.

I’m not sure what the future holds.  Part of the problem is that “good music” is subjective.  Everybody has different tastes.  I’m not sure how there’s a pop station.  My brother’s hardcore into rap, I’m into electronic, dad’s into country, mom’s into contemporary Christian.

I am sure that classical music will never be truly dead.  Those composers were genii.

Leave a Reply

