Weddings

I’m pretty sure I’ve been to at least twenty weddings over the past few months.  But not as a guest.  Oh, no.

I’ve not actually been a guest at a single wedding this year.

I work at a local vineyard on the weekends, and they do weddings.  Lots and lots of weddings.  So I’ve seen quite a few while I was working.

I think that being close enough to spot the bride and groom counts as attendance.

I’m going to see another wedding today.

The difference is that I actually know these people.  I’m still not invited, because I haven’t seen them since high school, but I could potentially run into lots of people who know me.

Normally, I’d be excited about this.

But I know these people from the dark ages known as “high school,” where I was a completely different person.

It feels like these people know some sort of hideous secret about me because they’ve seen me in my awkward stages of life.  And I know that if I see them, my impulse will be to regress to that awkward, uncertain person I was when I knew them.

Oh, the shackles of the past.  Maybe I’ll get lucky and no one will recognize me.

Leave a Reply

