Beautification

What is beauty?

Much of my existence has centered on this question.  As a woman, I am judged more on how beautiful I am to others than anything else I might possess.  Men are not drawn to a woman across the room by her mind–no, it is the cut of her figure, or the neckline of her clothes, that pull him to her side.

But this isn’t a tirade about men’s sexuality being of the visual nature.

Because the real culprit here is whoever decided that women weren’t beautiful enough on their own.

Right now, I am fake.  There’s beige powder on my eyes, blue liner on my lids, mascara on my lashes.  My lips are dyed red with gloss.  My hair has been ironed and curled into submission and hairsprayed into place.  Pink paint covers my fingernails.  And this is the definition of beauty.

Women all over the world will apply unnatural colors to their bodies in the name of beauty.  Are we not beautiful without them?  Women everywhere will tease, burn, chemically alter, and dye their hair in the name of beauty.  Is our hair not beautiful on its own?

Are we not beautiful enough as nature intended?

I believe we are.  I believe that a naked face is the most beautiful, because it’s the most honest.

Makeup is a wondrous thing.  It allows us to use our bodies as a canvas, to transform ourselves into walking works of art.  But for so many women, makeup becomes a necessity.  They won’t step outside of their homes before putting on their “face,” and some even feel very self conscious about letting their partners see their natural face.

We are taught to believe that we are not beautiful without make up.  We are told that men won’t love us if we don’t look like the fashion models on magazine covers.  Those of us who find romantic partners seem to slowly unlearn this, but for us single ladies…

We spend part of our days wondering if we were different, more beautiful, would we have a relationship too?

It’s so easy to buy into the lie that makeup is necessary for beauty.  That to attract a guy, we’ve got to look like those foundation-caked models in magazines.   If we’re not careful, makeup can become yet another thing that hinders our self confidence.

We can find that we are not capable of feeling beautiful without it.

Two days ago, I felt like I  couldn’t go out without my makeup for the first time.  Today, I’m calling myself on it.  I refuse to let makeup affect my confidence in myself, especially since that confidence is already fragile enough as it is.  I refuse to buy into the lie that I need makeup to be beautiful.

I will cling to my belief that what’s inside is truly more important, that whoever I will eventually (maybe) date will be attracted by my mind and not my body, clothes, or makeup artistry.

I don’t intend to stop playing with makeup, because face painting is fun! But I do have to reevaluate how I view it, and realize that it’s okay to show my plain jane face.  But I figure I won’t have very much time to fret over makeup because I have a surprise that will probably be keeping me busy for the rest of ever.

This surprise is also why I haven’t been posting lately…and I can’t tell you any more now!  You’ll see in a few days.  Hee!

P.S.  If you know what the surprise is–I’m looking at YOU, facebook friends–don’t blab!  SHH!  If I’d thought this through properly, I’d have kept it a secret from everybody, but I was too excited, and I spilled the beans, and now you guys have to keep your traps shut.  Mkay?

2 responses to “Beautification

  1. I think the fashion and cosmetics industries are the worst thing to happen to the meaning of “beauty.” It seems as though “to become beautiful” is to eliminate the seed of individuality within, as if beauty and individuality occupy contrary plates on a scale.

    Maybe this says something not only about the despicability of mass-produced aesthetics (that is to say, whatever force makes people uncomfortable with their individual selves), but also about a frighteningly misogynistic fiber of society that desires their women not as individuals but as generic symbols of femininity. In that way, when a man sleeps with assembly-line Sally-barbie, to him he is not only conquering Sally, but conquering all of womenkind through Sally.

    • Cosmetics can be a way to express individuality as well–it’s a double-edged sword that I’m not quite sure what to do with.

      As to the misogynistic fiber of society…I rather pity them. There’s no fulfillment in conquering a horde of Sally-barbies. The true gems of womankind are not among the generic barbie-wannabe clones, and they tend to know better than to mess with anyone who would belittle them in such a way.

Leave a Reply

